Innovation and Introverts in Education

While reading Part II: Laying the Groundwork in The Innovator’s Mindset by George Couros, I was faced with a reality that I ty very hard to keep hidden. You see, I am an introverted, Type A teacher. I like things organized and I must create down time so I can recharge my batteries or I become anxious.

Education may not seem like an ideal profession for people like me – Educators need to be engaging, high-energy, innovators, relationship builders, leaders… the list of what an educator is could go on forever. This career is overwhelming at times for even the most extroverted and laid back people.

So, why would an introvert choose to become an educator? My ‘Why’ is I am passionate about helping all students succeed. My heart is much more powerful than my discomfort. And let me be honest, fifth grade students are not the easiest to teach – especially if you teach a subject they do not have an interest in. This age group values peer relationships and fitting in more than compliance in a classroom. They need motivation to become engaged in classroom content. My need for organization and calm are not met during math class! 🤓

Once I make it through the school day, I work with other teachers and faculty in PLC meetings, trainings (I struggle with team building activities especially if they start as soon as the students leave), I am the Student Achievment Team Chair, tutor twice a week, mentor once a week, and lead a book study. Exhausting, but not impossible

So how does an introvert make all this happen without burning out? My go to decompression strategy at school is mindfulness. I have affirmations written everywhere; I lay on the couch in my room and read whenever I can; and I spend the last few minutes of the day in a class meeting. The students tell their Gems (things they understand better, upcoming events, anything that went well today), then they tell Opportunities for improvement, and we end with a corny joke. This routine is organized, calm, and reminds me that I am making a difference in their lives. Decompression achieved!

Introverts are typically analytical and quiet, but we are not delicate flowers with limited career opportunities. We can be successful in the most demanding professions. What we must do to be successful is follow our passions, know our needs and ensure we are taking care of ourselves, and learn when to say no.

Stand in front of the people you fear and speak your mind even if your voice shakes – Maggie Kuhn 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Innovation and Introverts in Education

  1. I was attracted to this post because I am also an introvert in education. I have never found that to be a barrier though. I work hard to build in a few quiet moments throughout my day. It’s your last sentence, though, that is really striking a chord with me. “We must … follow our passions, know our needs and ensure we are taking care of ourselves, and learn to say no.” I definitely need to keep working on that. Thanks for the great post!

    Like

    • I have a hard time saying no too. I take on responsibilities because I feel like I constantly have to prove my worth. I know this comes from my childhood, but the feeling of not good enough follows me even today. It is a struggle, but I am getting better at it.

      Like

Leave a comment