Innovation Mindset in Elementary Math

If innovation means thinking in a way that creates something new and better (Couros, Innovator’s Mindset) then why do math teachers cringe at the phrase – New Math? In my experience ‘New Math’ has been used to deligitimize Common Core and Singapore Math strategies. I will admit that I too was initially intimidated when my district adopted the Math in Focus: Singapore Math curriculum, but I was one of those that voted for it. It just seemed superior to our other options. So what did I do as an intimidated and much older first year teacher? Go back for a Masters in Curriculum with a focus in Mathematics, of course!

In the beginning, I promised parents that I would still teach the standard algorithms and I would not teach that silly stuff they were plastering all over Facebook. I ensured mothers, fathers, and grandparents that they would be able to help their child with math homework. I soon had to admit, I Lied! It turns out it is crazy to try to teach number sense and division without introducing the students to Tanton’s Exploding Dots (@jamestanton), or multiplication without area models (@gregtangmath), or operations with fractions without number bonds (@ban_har)… I gambled on an expensive degree and invested in fantastic math conferences and now, I wasn’t supposed to use the lessons I learned to best prepare students for the flexible thinking strategies they will need to be successful in math long-term? I think not.

I decided not to engage in the Facebook battles with the parents and community. Instead I got a little sneaky. I didn’t assign homework – period! If I saw another teacher’s parent ranting about a problem on Facebook, I would message the parent and help with the problem immediately while doing my best to explain the thinking over messenger. (I live in a tiny community – this may not be a good idea if you are in a larger district) What surprised me is that these parents who started rants, started defending our math teachers! I also started getting the kids on my side. I would use a little teacher drama to get the students hyped up about a new strategy – say, bar models. I would model how to do it and the students would get the hang of using them. Then at class meeting I would show the algebraic method with a little less enthusiasm. The students almost always prefer the ‘New’ math strategy. And hey, if they had a solid grasp on the concept and could use the algirithm correctly with understanding – be my guest! Algorithms are the ultimate goal, but only after there is true understanding.

I never thought of myself as an innovator, but maybe I am a little and I can work on getting better at it.

According to Couros, Innovators are:

  • Empathetic – check
  • Problem Finders – maybe
  • Risk Takers – check
  • Networked – getting there
  • Observant – heck yes
  • Creators – working on it
  • Resilient – I think so
  • Reflective – always

I think it might be harder sometimes for those of us in math to be innovative because students and parents come to us with some heavy math anxiety and we want to alleviate that fear and pain. But maybe it is time to claim the phrase ‘New Math’ and help the families understand the importance of teaching students new strategies. As teachers we are life-long learners and we need to share what we learn to make things better for our students.

Learning and innovation go hand in hand. The arrogance of success is to think that what you did yesterday will be sufficient tomorrow – William PollardΒ 

3 thoughts on “Innovation Mindset in Elementary Math

  1. The famous math dilemma! To do “worksheetsss” or to understand the math? I agree that the goal is algorithms but doesn’t need to be done with a worksheet. I myself a math teacher and trying new ways so that students are not just doing the math but understanding the math. I believe that if you understand the math, the rest will come!
    “As teachers we are life-long learners and we need to share what we learn to make things better for our students.” Yes!

    Like

  2. LOVE πŸ™‚ And… so many “new” methods are quite old! πŸ™‚ Like… John Napier’s Bones πŸ™‚ w/o bones πŸ™‚ (Lattice Multiplication) πŸ™‚ Maths can be fun! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love Napier’s Bones! I make them with my class on Halloween! We always have Red Ribbon Week that week and the kids get to wear their costumes. Doing something hands on keeps the kids engaged and learning. πŸ€“

      Like

Leave a comment